Year Round Capsule Wardrobe

I have toyed with the idea of a capsule wardrobe before. The first time I ran into the Project 333 I thought it was the most brilliant thing ever and started decluttering my closet straight away. Then life got in the way and the hoarding came back.

Last year I moved to a new country with nothing but a suitcase and a backpack but a year later I found myself suffocating with the weight of all of my belongings. With the financial security created by the move I subconsciously thought I needed to shop regularly. I needed to keep up with the trends to showcase my newly found “status”. It took a lot of soul searching to clearly see what a load of bullshit that was.

Two weekends ago I started a journey back into minimalism. I went through my wardrobe and got rid of 15kgs of clothes, bags, shoes and under crap. Everything in my wardrobe comes down to a grand total of 60 items, which doesn’t include workout clothes or underwear. This might seem like a lot to some (in which case – teach me your ways!) and like too little for others. But the point of a minimalist journey – at least to me – is finding what works for you. What fits into your life and your goals.

So what did I keep then?

Bottoms

  • 1 black trousers
  • 1 burgundy trousers
  • 1 black skinny jeans
  • 1 light wash skinny jeans
  • 1 denim skinny jeans
  • 1 pencil skirt

Tops – light

  • 1 pink sleeveless top
  • 1 coral batwing top
  • 1 mint crop top
  • 1 coral-orange shirt
  • 1 white button down shirt
  • 1 blue polka dot button down shirt
  • 1 stripped button down shirt
  • 1 black blouse
  • 1 naby blouse
  • 1 plaid shirt
  • 1 flannel shirt
  • 1 denim shirt
  • 1 ¾ sleeve black shirt
  • 1 stripped black and white shirt (long sleeve)
  • 1 stripped black and white shirt (short sleeve)
  • 4 basic long sleeved shirts (white, beige, brown and black)

Tops – heavy

  • 1 light knit yellow mustard shirt
  • 1 cable knit beige jumper
  • 1 grey/white cable knit jumper
  • 1 turtleneck knit jumper
  • 1 light pink knit jumper


Coats

  • 1 faux leather jacket
  • 1 winter coat
  • 1 black parka
  • 1 military style parka
  • 1 oversized beige cardigan
  • 1 black cardigan
  • 1 blazer
  • 1 trench coat

Shoes

  • 1 pair of trainers
  • 1 pair of Converse shoes
  • 2 pairs of flats (black and coral)
  • 1 pair of Oxford shoes
  • 1 pair mid heel loafers
  • 1 pair of tan ankle boots
  • 1 pair of black buckle boots
  • 1 pair of brown boots
  • 1 pair of flip flops

Others

  • 1 black dress
  • 2 hats
  • 1 pair of gloves
  • 3 light scarves
  • 4 heavy scarves
  • 2 bags

    Number one rule right now is the substitution rule: only buy something new if something else gets rid of.

    One thought on “Year Round Capsule Wardrobe

    Leave a Reply

    